top of page


Wotton Church

St. John’s is situated in the scattered village of Wotton, standing proudly

at the end of Church Lane overlooking a broad sweep of the North Downs.


The parish is shaped like a long finger stretching from the foot of the North Downs to Friday Street.


The church dates back to Saxon times, although only a few of the original footings now remain to the west of the Norman tower.


Much of the church was of necessity restored in Victorian times but there are still many interesting original features to see.

Of particular note are some unusual carved heads around the porch door including those of King John and Archbishop Stephan Langton.

The church also contains the Evelyn Chapel where there are some magnificent monuments and the tomb of John Evelyn, the diarist, who lived at nearby Wotton House. 

In 1979, we became a Joint Benefice with the neighbouring parish of Holmbury St. Mary and conduct several joint services 
with them.


Recently the Benefice has been expanded to include the other churches of the former Leith Hill Group:

St. James, Abinger and Christ Church, Coldharbour.

Contacts at Wotton church
Rev'd Kia Pakenham


Martha Golden

Rev. Virginia Smith


Honorary Assistant Priest

James Friend
Rosemary Wakeford



The Parochial Church Council (PCC) is a team of clergy and lay members of St John's.

It is responsible for the overall wellbeing, practical as well as spiritual, of Wotton church, its members, and the church buildings. The PCC also has a duty to promote the mission of the church within the wider community

  • James Friend               Churchwarden

  • Rosemary Wakeford     Churchwarden 

  • Rosie Francis               Hon. Treasurer  

  • Stella Ayling                Hon. Secretary

  • Sue Best

  • Merle Draper

  • Bill Cleary

  • Sandra Mills

  • Julia Sterling                                              

We are a church that does not discriminate, on any level, on grounds of economic power, gender, mental health, physical ability, race, or sexuality.


We believe in a Church which welcomes and serves all people in the name of Jesus Christ; which seeks to proclaim the Gospel afresh for each generation; and which, in the power of the Holy Spirit, allows all people to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Jesus Christ.

We are part of the Church of England and the worldwide Anglican Communion.


Our diocese straddles the North Downs, from tiny rural communities to the busy commuter towns, with areas of challenging social deprivation and great affluence in sharp contrast.


Guildford is one of 41 dioceses which cover the whole of England. We have 162 parishes, 82 church schools, including Surrey Hills All Saints and several hundred social and community projects, and our area includes two-thirds of Surrey (including Egham, Banstead, Dorking and Farnham), parts of North East Hampshire (including Farnborough and Aldershot) one parish each in Sussex, and one in Greater London.

bottom of page